Skip to content

Worst call ever?

June 27, 2012

I went to the Yankees-Indians game last night, and in the top of the 7th inning, with two outs, Jack Hannahan lofted a foul ball toward left field. Yankees leftfielder Dewayne Wise (yes, that’s Dewayne, with two E’s) ran toward the stands to try and make the play, got his glove on the ball and fell into the stands.

Out? Well, that’s what the ump called, but the problem is that Wise never caught the ball. In fact, some dude several feet away in the stands picked it up off the ground and was waving it around in the air. The ump didn’t see the catch, because it didn’t happen, and he didn’t even bother to check Wise’s glove when he climbed out of the stands. I assure you, it was empty.

Um, Mr. Umpire, ask the man to see the ball. Seriously.

About these ads
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers