Skip to content

Everybody’s Talkin’

March 15, 2010
by

Twice in the last two days I have been asked the somewhat surprising question “do pine nuts come from pine trees?”   Well, twice in two days constitutes a pretty distinct trend when you’re dealing with something as obscure as pine nuts — particularly when I haven’t even been in the presence of a pine nut on either day.

So, drumroll please…

Yes, pine nuts come from pine trees. They are apparently actually the edible seeds of pine trees, they do come out of pine cones, and there are about 20 pine varieties that yield pine nuts.  There’s lots more at Wikipedia if you could possibly be interested, but don’t worry, I confirmed their information elsewhere, and no, I did not write the Wikipedia pine nut page myself.

I guess this is kind of interesting if you’re so inclined, I certainly had never previously considered the connection between pine nuts and pine trees, but this is looking like sort of a one factoid post.  Let’s see, ah, what does one do productively with pine nuts?   Pesto, of course.   What else?  Traditionally, kibbeh should have pine nuts.  That’s all I got.

Is this boring?  Maybe it’s boring.  Maybe I should be saying something mean or snarky.  I’ve got nothing.  How do you snark on pine nuts?

Hey, how about a little touch of Nilsson to close things out?   I’ll try and be snarkier tomorrow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:41 am

    Unless there are some lyrics that I have missed, it takes some pretty nimble gymnastics to shoehorn Harry Nillson into a post about pine nuts.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    March 16, 2010 10:56 am

    I am nothing if not nimble.

  3. JCo permalink
    March 16, 2010 4:10 pm

    Does this mean we can live off the land in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey?

    • Fat Al permalink*
      March 16, 2010 8:15 pm

      I can’t think of a single reason why not. At the moment.

Leave a Reply

