Skip to content

Erin Go Bragh, sure, but…

March 17, 2010

Who doesn’t love Ireland and the Irish? But I am afraid I have a less sunny view of today’s holiday than does my portly co-blogger.  I don’t like parades, I don’t like loud crowded bars (particularly at 2 in the afternoon) and I don’t like St. Patrick’s Day.  Or, I should say, I don’t like the more visible celebrations around St. Patrick’s Day. Frankly,  it’s a shame one has come to be associated with the other,  and as a person of some Irish self identification, it’s rather tenuous one but I’m sticking to my claim,  I find much of the behavior sloshing around the day rather offensive; as if the highest cultural achievements of the that beautiful emerald isle were the Pogues and vomiting.  They are not.  Frankly, it is an idiotic holiday, or a perfectly nice holiday hi-jacked by jackasses looking for an excuse to get loaded on a Wednesday afternoon.  I don’t understand why folks of Irish background don’t get furious about what goes on outside of the actual parade, yahoos “celeberating” someone elses culture by acting on the worst stereotypes of that particular people. It would be as if after the Salute to Israel parade everybody went running pff trying to buy at wholesale prices. A fine activity in measured doses, but not actually a characteristic of Jews and certainly not their proudest acheivement.

Also, green beer is really stupid, almost as stupid as green bagels.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    March 17, 2010 4:10 pm

    When is the salute to Israel parade? I’m considering getting naked and buying lots of shit wholesale.

    Did I mention that Jameson sucks?

    You should be more circumspect about who you decide to weblog with.

    I’m talking to you, Mr. Anonymous271.

Leave a Reply

