Skip to content

When Respect is Due

March 28, 2010

As regular readers of this blog know, ok, regular reader, I’ve been known to complain about the MTA, its service and its employees on occasion. But, when they act heroically that should be acknowledged. Thursday was such a night.

I was taking the the silver limo home after a night at the fights and had exited the 2 train at 96th and was waiting for the 1 to carry me along the final leg of my journey. A dramatic rehabilitation of the station, it will be futuristic we have been promised, had both express tracks shut down and a tremendous show was being put on. The place was crawling with construction workers. I was having a grand old time waiting for the 1; there were running hoses, guys in hard hats walking back and forth, stacks of cinder blocks, cement, tools and garbage. Soaking it all in, I  eventually  leaned forward to see what was happening down on the tracks, gloriously covered in trash, and as I did so the small camera I was carrying in my breast pocket slid out, hit the platform, hesitated for a long second, and as I stood there paralyzed, dropped onto the tracks.

The platform was fairly crowded but the two people closest to me were a crazy man in a Met’s cap and an MTA worker with the longest wrench you’ve ever seen. Before I could even act, I was thinking about hopping down onto the track, you’ll remember that the there were no trains running on the express line, but there were all these official MTA types around, on the other hand it would fulfill one of my great fantasies– to walk the subway rails, the crazy Met fan started jabbering away and immediately grabbed the attention of the wrench wielding MTA guy and pointed out what happened. Wrench guy kind of looked at me with a disinterested contempt and without saying a word ambled over to the edge of the platform, climbed down onto the tracks and handed me my camera. I, of course, thanked him and then again when he returned to the platform, but he never said a word.

Eventually the 1 train arrived and as the passengers exited crazy Met fan walked toward the front door of the car, this took him right by the MTA worker/samaritan and he reached into his pocket and pulled out $2 and tried to tip the guy. Was I supposed to tip him? it had never even occurred to me, maybe I am, as a friend accused me of just the other day, cheap. I’d like to think that I’m not. Fortunately, and to my great relief, the tip was vigorously refused. That’s kind of it, the camera works fine, I made it home and now I have a little something to put on the scales to balance out my angry whining about the subway.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    March 28, 2010 11:12 am

    I’m going to go with: you’re cheap, but that story is not why you’re cheap.

  2. jco permalink
    March 28, 2010 12:15 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t climb down there, we’d have had to pick you up with a tissue.

  3. March 31, 2010 4:58 pm

    You was with the Juice!

Leave a Reply

