Skip to content

The Bright Side

April 2, 2010
by

This is probably going to get me in trouble in certain circles (yeah, you, anonymous guy), but this is going to be a positive post.

It’s a ridiculously spectacular day here in NYC.  The sun’s out, nice breeze.  Not only that, but it’s supposed to be nice and warm all weekend.  (Check out the webcam of the main Post Office steps and the smart people sitting there enjoying the day.)

And not only THAT, but the 27-time World Champion New York Yankees begin their title defense on Sunday night.  (This being a positive post I will defer my rant about how I hate the fact that ESPN has forced “Opening Day” to late Sunday night, as well as my rage against the obnoxious MLB pricks who have the Yankees both opening and closing their season in the friendly confines of Fenway Park this year.)

It is so nice out that if it were a day like this and it was some time between 1991 and 1994 I know exactly where I would be.  I would be on some corner downtown (perhaps this one), hanging out, taking it all in, with a 40 of Bud in a paper bag and not a care in the world (well, until 5-0 walked by, in which case you have to make sure to strategically put down your paper-bagged 40 so that the cops don’t see it and some hobo doesn’t grab it before you can retrieve it.)

That would be great.  But I’m old now, so I can’t do that.  But there are other things I can do, and will do.  I’m just not sure what they are yet.  I doubt there’s anyone reading this, but if there is, stop it and go outside and grab yourself a 40.  You’ll be glad you did.

And here’s some Snoop Dogg. Just because.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jomi permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:39 pm

    if you insist….

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    April 2, 2010 3:30 pm

    I do.

Trackbacks

  1. The Less Bright Side « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

