Skip to content

The Less Bright Side

April 5, 2010
by

So the other day I was preaching that everyone should enjoy themselves, life is good, the world is beautiful. All that nonsense.

Well, I’ve come to my senses.  The 27-time World Champion New York Yankees just lost in ignominious fashion to the Red Sox.  There are enough baseball blogs out there, so I won’t go over this ridiculousness.  But suffice it to say that my earlier post, and my cohort’s almost simultaneous post (though he has forsaken the Yankees, turning his back on his heritage), tell you most of what you need to know. And then there’s this.

It’s one game, it’s a long season, last year the Yanks lost their first 8 to the Sox and then won the Series.  I know and appreciate all of that.  And it was still a beautiful day.

But I’m still extremely annoyed.

So what to do?

Move on. Tomorrow is work again, and they aren’t my team, but the New York Mets open on what should be a spectacular day in Flushing. None of this late-night in Fenway bullshit. A real Opening Day in a real city. And it’s not like the Metsies have great expectations. So enjoy it. Briefly forget the one team in town dumb enough to run Chan Ho Park out there in hostile territory with a lead, and watch a baseball game for it’s own sake.

Then on Tuesday, get back on the horse:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

