Skip to content

Take Me Out To The Ball Game

April 6, 2010

It’s hard to get much sympathy if you’re a Yankee fan. What with the 27 world championships, a roster of retired players that reads like the Cooperstown phone book, a brand spanking new government subsidized stadium (built on one top of the most important park in one of New York’s poorest neighborhoods), and a payroll of more than 200 million dollars–65 million more than the next team, the ludicrously incompetent New York Mets. On the other hand, they are not asking for much and even less is needed, their last “dry spell” lasted eight years and contained 7 playoff appearances, including 2 World Series. That’s what makes this post so delightful. Nicely done Mac, nicely done.

The other day, the target of the above mock, my friend and co-blogger Fat Al, suggested that I had “turn[ed] his back on his heritage”, meaning the Yankees. I don’t believe I have turned my back, my heritage is the Bronx and that which springs from it, so I will choose over this any day.

But I do like a good ball game, so there is no reason to be stubborn about the matter.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    April 6, 2010 2:32 pm

    Don’t equate Mac’s consistent and genuine Mets-fandom-based sarcasm and one-downsmanship with your weak-willed disloyalty. You can chirp about Macomb’s Dam Park all you want, and I may even agree with you, but coming from someone who rooted for Steinbrenner’s Yankees for a good long time, it rings pretty hollow.

    Did you get your Tigers cap blocked for the new season?

    • April 6, 2010 3:49 pm

      In our disposable culture it is nearly impossible to find a good hat blocker.

      It is precisely because I rooted for the Steinbrenner Yankees that I have such a difficult and ambivalent relationship with the team. They are the home town squad, it was attending a game in 1977 that made me a baseball, and Yankee, fan. But the parade of insanity, anger and just plain meanness have taken their toll. Perhaps the firing of Yogi Berra after only 16 games in 1985 (after being promised he would manage the entire season!!) was my first great baseball trauma (yeah, yeah, I remember Munson) and taught me a valuable lesson of how the world really works. But that wound never fully healed and has festered and grown down to the present; I vowed never to go back, I’m sorry I let you down Yogi–who lasted something like 15 years before returning to the stadium– but of course I did. This isn’t the place to run through the accumulated list of grievances that you know better than I. But every jackassy move by the team weighed a little more on the scales.

      And then, finally, they tore down a real tangible sign of my heritage and put up a subsidized stadium with outlandish ticket prices, and for which they pay no property tax, on top of a park, FOR POOR PEOPLE. In fairness, they and the city did promise to more than replace all the lost park space before the new place went up, oops!, not yet. And oops!, not soon.

      So, what, having become a fan of the team as a child I am now complicit in every hardball move the organization makes. Maybe you have been cowed, but I shall not be silenced. They are like family, always with me, but I don’t have to be happy about it.

      Also, face it, he got you good.

      • Fat Al permalink*
        April 6, 2010 4:24 pm

        As ever, I bow in the general direction of Big Mac.

  2. April 6, 2010 4:29 pm

    That’s all I’m saying.

    Watch a little of the game later?

    • Fat Al permalink*
      April 6, 2010 4:44 pm

      I can’t think of a single reason why not.

Leave a Reply

