Skip to content

Department of Health Education & Welfare

April 12, 2010
by

So in my time and booze-addled mind, I sometimes recall old commercials and TV shows from my younger days.  The commercials, for whatever reason, are often the most memorable.  There are the real classics like this one and, sure, this hippy (hippie?) special.

But one that I haven’t seen in forever comes to my mind more often than it should.  It’s the one where the little kid is in a canoe or row boat or something talking to his grandfather the kid tells grandpa that his friend Jimmy told him he was “prejudiced.”  Grandpa then goes on to show the kid how he actually is prejudiced by asking “who’s Jimmy?” and the kid says “Jimmy’s my Jewish friend.”  Grandpa’s point proved, he brings down the hammer and tells the kid he is actually prejudiced because he thinks of Jimmy as his “Jewish friend” and not simply as his friend.  Lesson learned.

Now in my admittedly less than exacting memory, I had this as a Saturday or Sunday morning mid-cartoon ad from the Church of Latter-Day Saints.  But, they don’t get the credit for this brilliant piece of advertising (though I’m apparently not the only one with this faulty recollection, which makes me wonder).  Credit belongs, at least according to the video I could find, to our own “Department of Health Education & Welfare,” whatever that is/was.

The second thing I didn’t remember was how inarticulate kid and Grandpa (particularly the kid) are in this piece.  It was the late 70’s, maybe they were on ‘ludes.  Anyhow, God bless whoever took the time to load this thing up on YouTube, and God bless you all. (By the way, I know the tag on the video says 1980, but I’m certain I saw it well before that.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jco325 permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:45 pm

    Ah, Lemmon 714

  2. April 12, 2010 9:01 pm

    Let me tell you, my Jewish friend, that was thought provoking. I wish my Asian blog partner was coming up with material like this. By the way, what’s up with grandpa’s hat. That thing is so gay!

  3. April 12, 2010 11:39 pm

    Fat Al, who’s your Bigoted-American friend?

    • Fat Al permalink*
      April 13, 2010 12:08 am

      Look, not everyone picks up all of the subtle nuances of this classic PSA on first viewing.

Leave a Reply

