Skip to content

Sock Gypsies

April 18, 2010

Yesterday was, for me, the first day of spring. This morning after I finally dragged myself out of bed and my apartment I went out to find the first street “fair” of the year. Six blocks of pure crap. Lots of not very good food, socks, t-shirts and assorted other nonsense.

I don’t understand these “fairs”, I know no one who thinks they are useful or even enjoyable. None the less, I walked the length of the fair–I often feel compelled to experience that which I find absurd and or moronic. Maybe this time it will be different. Below is a photographic essay of my walk through the “fair”.
This is the start of the “fair”, in my neighborhood they always run six blocks, I’m not sure if that is a standard length or if it varies by location. Buses are re-routed for these things.


These corn and mozzarella concoctions are immensely popular and really quite disgusting. Have you ever seen one of these ANYWHERE else?

Ah, the classic grilled chicken chunks basted with some sort of something.

The classic Italian sausage and peppers, both hot and sweet. There are many fewer of these guys than there used to be. And I don’t remember that they served calamari, maybe that’s new, perhaps they are updating their menu offerings to stay current. But they do still serve zeppoles, which I would eat in mass quantities if I weren’t trying to maintain my expanding, but still girlish, figure.

Let’s leave the food and move on.
These are the Epoch Times folks giving out free copies of their, uhm, free paper.

Maybe I’m just being too harsh and judgemental, but I’m pretty sure I would not take tax or financial advice from a guy in a tent next to some one selling discount socks

Apparently, stupid hats are going to really big this summer. I started noticing trilby hats appearing somewhere between 6 months and a year ago, and now here they are, freed from the limited confines of hipster heads, available and ready to be worn by the least hip among us. The whole idea is dumb, as they will soon move onto something else. On the other hand, I’ve long been a fan of a good hat, though it’s hard for me to wear one without looking like a moron or orthodox. But, if you’re looking for a good hat there are still a few places around in New York, even after the very sad closing of Arnold Hatters.

Finally, we visit the reason why these “fairs” exist, SOCKS. SOCKS, SOCKS, SOCKS!
I don’t know how you beat that, the most comfortable socks in the whole wide world, here, being sold on the street just a block from my house! Man, I LOVE NEW YORK!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    April 18, 2010 7:21 pm

    Man, if I wrote a post about those fucking street “fairs” (and I reserve my right to do so in the future), it would have been far more expletive-laced than yours.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    July 19, 2010 9:04 am

    Apropos of this nonsense, I had forgotten to point this out:

    Street Fair Screed

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    October 9, 2011 4:26 pm

    Sick gridlock in midtown today because 10+ blocks of 8th Avenue are closed to traffic so that people can sell plastic crap that hawkers in Jakarta would be embarrassed to sell.

    Who have these people bribed to allow them to shut down major parts of the City for zero redeeming social value and an enormous negative impact on everybody else?

Leave a Reply

