Skip to content

That Heavenly Coffee Cup

May 10, 2010
by

I’m tired this morning. And though my cup of coffee isn’t doing much to perk me up, it does remind me of a story that I couldn’t let pass unmentioned.

The guy who invented the Greek diner style paper coffee cup died. Leslie Buck was his name, and though I had no idea, the cup has a name too:  Amphora

It is amazing to me that a paper coffee cup design could be considered iconic, but, hell, what else could you call this? From my point-of-view, this is what a to-go coffee cup looks like. And this guy invented it. Everything else is a pale substitute.

So RIP, Leslie Buck. Does anyone know if the guy who invented the coffee cup lid with the peel-back and snap top is still around? Those beat the crap out of the sippy-cup tops that we purported adults walk around with these days.

Leave a Reply

