Skip to content

Cultural Illiteracy

May 25, 2010

Early today I was writing an overwrought post about cultural illiteracy, but, fortunately, I exerted a little self censorship and tossed it. What triggered me to start writing the post was an episode at work. I was trying to make a point to a much younger co-worker, and in doing so I started describing one of my favorite Abbott and Costello routines, at which point she interrupted to ask me who they were. It made me sad. This is a smart well educated person and she had no idea what I was talking about. I wanted to believe that there was something wrong with her, something deficient in her knowledge of our shared culture. But really, I had to simply admit that I’m old, dwell too much in the past (watching the Abbott and Costello show was a Sunday morning tradition as a kid) and am a bit of a nerd. And it’s only going to get worse, so, without further ado:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    May 25, 2010 10:30 am

    Don’t apologize for expecting — or at least hoping — that the younger generations should have some appreciation for something that extends past the last 140-character Tweet they got from their BFF.

    I love the Susquehanna Hat Co. routine, and it comes up in my life far more than one would reasonably expect.

    I look forward to your Our Gang homage.

  2. May 25, 2010 3:19 pm

    I hate the Little Rascals. Not funny, and they always made me uncomfortable.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      May 25, 2010 3:29 pm

      Everything makes you uncomfortable.

  3. Kelly permalink
    May 27, 2010 2:59 pm

    VAGINA. There, now we’re ALL uncomfortable.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      May 27, 2010 3:56 pm

      You’re going to have to try harder than that.

Leave a Reply

