Skip to content

God Bless America

June 17, 2010

Lord knows, I love my country and hope that God continues to bless it, if in fact that is what he is doing– sometimes I have my doubts, but it is enough already with the continued playing of God Bless America during the 7th inning stretch at Yankee Stadium. This “tradition” was started 10 years ago and drags on long after every other team, I believe, has stopped, and I’m sick of it.

Why do we do it? what purpose does it serve? Does it remind us to think about our nation? I think the Star Spangled Banner takes care of that nicely prior to the game. It seems to me it’s a situation where the Yankees don’t want to stop, it’s been going on so long that the cessation would be noticed and they worry they’ll take some heat for no longer loving America. But, what I actually believe is that the Captain Americas who run the team love these cloying, force fed demonstrations of “patriotism”. But what’s the connection to baseball, why do I have to recognize my country twice at a baseball game, and not even once at a movie, a concert, a restaurant, my job, or just about any other event in my American life. Is it simply that we baseball fans are the most patriotic of all?! I doubt it.

Frankly, it can also create an unpleasant pleasant environment; you have yahoos yelling at you to take off your hat–I was always taught that you only take your hat off for the national anthem, police not letting folks move around while it is being played–in one instance that I know of a police officer refused to allow someone to go to the bathroom because you couldn’t move around during the national anthem, wah??

It’s too much, and it is time for it to stop. Yesterday I sent an e-mail to the Yankees asking that they end this practice. Perhaps if others did they might reconsider, so give them a holler if you agree with me, and, if you don’t, go to hell. God Bless The Half Empty Glass!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    June 17, 2010 6:06 pm

    Commie.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    June 17, 2010 6:22 pm

    And, may I add, that you missed the biggest point of why GBA detracts from the game. The 7th inning stretch is supposed to revolve around the singing of Take Me Out To The Ballgame, which the singing of GBA relegates to (at best) second-fiddle status.

    Moreover, lest people get the impression that the Yankees’ jack-booted and generally fan-unfriendly policies are ALWAYS bad, I would note that they have banned iPads and Vuvuzelas from the Stadium.

  3. June 18, 2010 1:18 am

    You are absolutely right about the diminished status of take me out to the ballgame. A god damned travesty that also gets me steamed, but I was getting bored writing the post and work was just about done so I hit publish and got the hell out of there.

  4. JCo permalink
    June 20, 2010 12:27 pm

    Because of GBA, the red sox fans kick the Yankees fans asses on singing take me out to the ballgame. It is a crushing embarrassment.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      June 21, 2010 9:43 am

      Only to then embarass themselves by singing — far more lustily — Sweet Caroline by the not-so-late, not-so-great New Yorker Neil Diamond.

Leave a Reply

