Skip to content

Drake’s

July 19, 2010

The last two posts, particularly One Tough Motherfucker, make my latest musings feel somewhat silly, nevertheless, here they are. Drake’s is my favorite producer of crap, they’re going to kill you or at least turn you into a giant diabetic lard ass, snacks. The Yodel is really an unsurpassed snack cake, and while I eat them only rarely these days they were a big player in my childhood. While the Yodel was #1, the Ring Ding and Devil Dog had places of prominence and respect in our family’s cupboard.

I think the best thing and the thing I most remember about the Ring Ding was that it was wrapped in foil (while the Yodel is my favorite I don’t actually remember how they were wrapped, but I have been assured by the internet that it was also foil), but I am sure that they must now be in plastic.

It has to be nearly 30 years since I’ve eaten a Ring Ding and I believe it is time to have another. I am a little worried that the neighborhood where I work is not Ring Ding friendly, so this may be a lust that will go unfulfilled until later. There will be some Hostess product around as they are the bigger brand but I’ve never really liked them. On the facebook Ring Ding appreciation page there is this sentence in their self description:

We celebrate the joy that was the Drake’s Cakes RING DING (** NOT ** the Hostess DING DONG. To Hades with that crap!!).

I doubt one could be more eloquent on the matter.

When I went off to college I left the Northeast and was surprised to find that Drake’s were unavailable. Drake’s, it seams, is only a regional producer, barely reaching Northeastern Pennsylvania. Philadelphia is Tastykake country.

Drakes, founded in 1888, has gone through a number of ownership changes in recent decades and is now owned by Hostess and Interstate bakeries. Near as I can tell Interstate merged with Hostess and doesn’t simply own them. I have encountered the unsettling rumor that the Drake’s name may be retired. I have to believe that would mean the end of the Drake’s line of cakes. Now way are they going to sell A Hostess Ring Ding and Ding Dong. The products are too similar, if only in appearance. The execrable Ho Ho may look like a Yodel, but it is, in fact, nothing like it. The Ding Dong too is a demonstration of the truth that is ‘you can’t judge a book by it’s cover’. Despite this, they both can’t survive, and it will once more be a dollar driven descent to the lowest common denominator and a little more American culture will die.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    July 19, 2010 2:44 pm

    Man, I loved Ring Dings. My father always had several boxes of foil-wrapped ones in the freezer. Absolutely awesome.

    But when they moved from foil to plastic wrappers, that was the end for me.

    Now that Ring Ding page may be the first good reason I’ve ever seen to consider joining Facebook. Not good enough to actually join, but makes a decent argument.

  2. July 19, 2010 2:57 pm

    I always hated the Ho Ho’s! Fuck Hostess, especially those god-awful snowballs. Long live Drake’s. And I love the line, “to hades with that crap!” I’ll be using and obsessing over that for quite a while. And you’re right, more American culture down the drain. It’ll never end till we’re all eating generic shit like in Repo Man.

  3. jco permalink
    July 19, 2010 4:00 pm

    I can personally attest that Yodels were individually wrapped in foil in the late 60s, early 70s. My mother “hid” them in the cupboard above the stove, not realizing that I had figured out how to climb up there, and take one and put it in the freezer, and eat it from the outside in, trying always unsuccessfully to unroll it completely.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      July 19, 2010 4:47 pm

      I think the freezing might have hindered the unrolling. You may have been working at cross-purposes.

    • Pasadenagene permalink
      June 21, 2012 1:34 pm

      Yes i was sucessful 😛 I used to take off the chocolate coating and eat that first and then unroll them completely. A NOTE*** the current product named Yodels is in fact not a Yodel at all. It is a chocolate coated smaller version of the Drakes Swiss Roll.!!!! which has a thicker chocolate cake roll than the original Yodels ,ALSO the original Yodels cake was a devils food cake while the Swiss Roll is a more of a milk chocolate cake. So effectively when Drakes made this change to the Yodel product i am not sure of, it might be when they decided to wrap them in pairs in plastic and also reduced the size of each one as well.

      • June 21, 2012 6:08 pm

        Oh, this definitely requires some intensive study on my part. Thanks for the info, Gene.

  4. Cosmic Cos permalink
    April 22, 2014 10:33 am

    I miss the yodels and ring dings when they were wrapped in foil

Trackbacks

  1. Ding Dongs « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

