Skip to content

I Can’t Wait

August 14, 2010
by

The Grumbler has a good rant on people who make you take your shoes off at the door before you enter their homes/apartments. After some insightful analysis and Larry David references, he concludes:

Don’t take off your shoes in other people’s apartments (unless they are Japanese, and spending a few weeks on vacation in Japan doesn’t count). Don’t slip hospital booties over your shoes, either, as many suggest. And don’t swap your shoes for the creepy crocheted slippers these people keep in a basket by the door for guests.

Just say no to the no-shoe rule!

As someone who is related to a number of people who enforce just such no-shoe rules, I have to say that saying no can be easier said than done, but I salute the effort.

Oh yeah, one more thing, Nu Shooz:


Okay, one more one more thing, people who wear these things are freaks:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 4:18 pm

    I HATE it when people ask to take off your shoes. But like you, it’s usually easier to just take them off. One good thing is my feet stink, so there’s some payback in that.

  2. Kelly permalink
    August 15, 2010 8:21 pm

    I was all gung-ho for these FiveFinger shoes and wanted to try on a pair. I finally found a local shop that carried them but after 20 minutes and much frustration, I simply couldn’t fit my toes in them. I figured if I’m going to spend 100 bucks on running shoes, the effort required to get them on my feet should be minimal. And now of course I think that everyone who wears them is a total asshat.

  3. August 16, 2010 12:48 am

    Get bent, D-bag. You’re just trying to pick a fight.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      August 16, 2010 9:06 am

      It’s not nice to call Kelly a D-bag. She’s a very nice girl.

      Is someone a little sensitive about their freak shoes?

Trackbacks

  1. On The Avenue « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

