Skip to content

One Penny

August 21, 2010
by

So yesterday I was perusing the stack of old Playboy magazines we have sitting on the bookshelf.  What, you don’t have a stack of old Playboys sitting on the bookshelf?  Your loss.

Anyhow, I came upon the September 1967 issue, with the lovely Angela Dorian on the cover (although apparently her real name was Victoria Vetri — I’m sure the nom de playboy fooled the parents — VV appeared in Star Trek no less).

But where was I?  Right, perusing Playboy.  Now I don’t read Playboy just for the articles, but also for the advertisements.  And I came across one that brought up some fun memories.  It was for the RCA Victor Record Club.  Some featured selections were The Sound of Music, Van Cliburn’s My Favorite Chopin and, of course, The Monkees.

I was never a member of that particular club, but I certainly was a member of the Columbia House Record & Tape Club. Many times. I daresay I may have taken advantage of their generous “introductory” offers. In fact, I have a vague memory of having my mother send them a letter explaining my tender age when they started sending threatening letters. Ah, the glorious results of a misspent youth.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. r l ragin permalink
    August 21, 2010 7:44 pm

    wow…i’m shocked that marty has not had something to say about this post…was a”member” of a couple of these “clubs”…seems i moved quite frequently in those days…

    rr

  2. August 21, 2010 10:29 pm

    I’ve had computer issues and just got here, rr. Oh yeah, I got lots of free albums from these clubs! I love looking at old issues of Playboy, much better than the modern day version.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      August 22, 2010 1:24 pm

      Especially if you’re in the market for a new 8-track player. I confess that I have looked at the pictures now and again, and the old ones are better there too.

  3. John Smetak permalink
    July 1, 2012 4:29 am

    Just want to let you know that the lady on the cover of the Sept 67 Playboy is Bo Black, not Victoria Vetri. The photo was taken when Bo was a student at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. She later gained fame as the longtime director of Milwaukee’s Summerfest and married Tom Treblehorn, then manager of the Milwaukee Brewers. I believe that Victoria Vetri’s face was on the cover of the July 67 issue.

Trackbacks

  1. Angela « The Half Empty Glass
  2. For anonymous guy « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

