Skip to content

The Mexican

August 26, 2010
by

EV Grieve points out some cool old photos of Babe Ruth that Life Magazine has dug up.

I particularly like this one. I can’t figure out how to embed the images so here’s another good one of the Sultan of Swat that I came across:

So why’s the post called The Mexican?  Because there was a band called Babe Ruth that had a great song in 1974 called The Mexican. That song was featured on one of the best bootleg collections of music in the history of the world, called Ultimate Breaks & Beats that was the source for much of the raw material for New York DJs in the late 70’s and 80’s. It’s now available digitally, and is well worth the (high) price of admission. I remember buying copies of the early editions in the series (which had great graffiti covers) at the Music Factory in Times Square (now the ESPN Zone or Good Morning America or some such bullshit).

Babe Ruth’s version of The Mexican was later covered in a great version by Madonna’s some time boyfriend and producer Jellybean Benitez, before they got together to do Sidewalk Talk.

Hey, you asked why the post was called The Mexican…

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 2:30 pm

    I just looked at the post at EV Grieve before coming over here. Nice photo of the Sultan that you found too, but sadly, once again I can’t see the video because the assholes I work for block YouTube and tons of other online shit in an effort to actually make me do things while I’m here. I’ll check it out later tonight if I’m not too drunk.

Leave a Reply

