Skip to content

Greeley

September 21, 2010
by

Infectious Greed posts this kind of interesting map from the U.S. Department of Commerce that shows how the “center” of the United States population has moved west over the past couple of hundred years. 

The center of the population now (or in 2000 anyway) rests in the middle of Missouri.  I’m not sure what to add to that.  I mean, I like Harry S. Truman as much as the next guy, and “The Show-Me State” is a pretty good state nickname, but seriously, Missouri?  Who else is from Missouri?  Sherman T. Potter?  He sucked, and was a pale substitute for Lt. Col. Henry Blake.

So go west if you must.  Leaves more room back east for the rest of us.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    September 21, 2010 1:55 pm

    Yogi Berra was born in St. Louis. And maybe Linda Blair, but I think I’m just totally making that up.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      September 21, 2010 1:58 pm

      I had no idea about Yogi. My image of the big MO is somewhat upgrade. Linda Blair, on the other hand…

  2. September 22, 2010 1:51 am

    I hated Sherwin Potter and loved the fact that McLean Stevenson was from Bloomington, Illinois. And don’t get me going on Charles Emerson Winchester III. Worst character on M*A*S*H ever!

    • Fat Al permalink*
      September 22, 2010 1:46 pm

      I don’t know, B.J. Honeycutt also sort of sucked. I was definitely an original cast guy.

      • September 22, 2010 1:55 pm

        I agree with that and Hawkeye got a little too wimpy the last couple of seasons in my opinion.

  3. Kelly permalink
    September 22, 2010 2:22 pm

    “Hey? Hey BEEJ? Do you hear that?”

    “I don’t hear anything, Hawkeye.”

    “That’s just it. The shelling has stopped.”

    • September 22, 2010 4:45 pm

      Well said Kelly. To watch an old episode of Mash is to realize how truly bad a show it was.
      “Mr. Kwan, I’d like a very dry martini”

      You can certainly end any debate about the merits of Missouri as a state by mentioning Yogi Berra, and I was planning on going on an extended contrarian rant about your casual dismissal of the show me state, but upon reflection and a little research, you’re kind of right

      First of all, you got your Missouri Compromise, which brought it into the U.S.A as a slave state in 1820. Then you look for who came out of the place in the following 190 years, and it’s a pretty weak stew. Sure there are a few hardy chunks of meat there, but not enough for a meal. Mark Twain, George Washington Carver, Jesse James Josephine Baker are all good ones, but the list starts falling apart around there. Sure there are a few more here and there, Burt Bacharach, Scott Joplin, but come one. I’m pretty sure The Midwood Section of Brooklyn has them beat just in the last 50 years.What the hell have they been doing down there for last couple of centuries.

      • Fat Al permalink*
        September 22, 2010 5:05 pm

        I can’t say I would’ve pegged Burt Bacharach as a Missourian.

Trackbacks

  1. Across The River To The Jersey Side « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

