Skip to content

Cry me a river

October 22, 2010
by

Okay, look, I don’t mean to seem insensitive.  I cry at the movies, I cry watching stupid tv shows, hell, I’ve been known to tear up at a commercial.  I’m an incredibly sensitive soul.  No, really, I am.  Really.

So I pop over to EV Grieve and he’s got this post up (wait, is E.V. Grieve a he?  not sure.  strike sexist assumption.) that talks about a poor little 4 year-old girl who planted some flowers in a window box on 9th Street between First and A. 

Then what happened?  Some motherfucker stole the flowers. 

Here’s the sign the kid’s minder put up:

And I think there’s even more stuff written on a cardboard box that I didn’t bother to read. 

In any event, fine, there’s a kid who lives in what used to be Alphabet City, who planted some flowers on the street and someone fucked with them.  I don’t mean to be callous, but welcome to fucking New York.  You’re lucky nobody’s pulled a gun on you yet. Actually, you’re probably not, since what are the odds of someone on your EV block pulling a gun on you these days?  Pretty much nil.  So a solid and relatively harmless life lesson for what I assume is a lovely little girl.

Now, that said, what the fuck is wrong with the person who wrote that sign?  Seriously.  Give us all a fucking break.  Buy the kid some new flowers (or not) and move the fuck on.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 5:47 pm

    We know it was you. And you’re not that sensitive.

  2. October 23, 2010 2:29 pm

    Give the flowers back, Fat Al and I’ll send you a bouquet of beer.

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    October 24, 2010 9:02 pm

    I’m not giving them back. I stole them fair and square.

Trackbacks

  1. Lousy kids « The Half Empty Glass
  2. Get a Life « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

