Skip to content

Fat People

November 15, 2010

I have a morbid fascination with the truly obese, like many people I think. My interest is not in the heavy people one sees all around us, or even the dangerously fat folks who are all to, sadly, common in our society, ie.The Biggest Loser, but, instead, by the apocalyptically obese, people who weigh 600, 700 pounds, and beyond. Their physical conditions are inherently interesting and many have compelling life stories; Walter Hudson, the more than half ton man who had to be cut out of his house when he passed away, the motorcyle riding brothers who appeared in just about every edition of Ripley’s Believe it or Not! when I was a kid, the man who declared, “I wash myself with a rag on a stick.”, and so on.

I’ll spare you the chain that led me to this list of the 20 most obese people in the world, but it’s an amazing list, 17 of the twenty weighed over 1,000 pounds at some point in their lives. Perhaps unsurprisingly, Americans dominate the ranks of the heaviest.

The list is from the website of Dimensions Magazine, which is published and advocates for fat people. I am not being mean when I use the word fat, it is how they are referred to on the Dimensions website and at the National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance (NAAFA), a civil rights group dedicated to protecting and improving the quality of life of fat people. There are some interesting items at Dimensions Online, one being their “Women We Love”, I think their FAQ can describe what this section is better than I can:

That section is sort of the reverse of all the “Before and After” features you see in diet magazines. While the general public thinks that all women look better thinner, many Dimensions readers and site visitors think the opposite is true. the “Women we love” section lists a number of celebrities that we’d love to see fatter.

I have nothing particularly interesting to say on the subject,except, tell me more.

Now a clip from a classic episode of The Simpsons:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    November 15, 2010 3:50 pm

    What are you trying to say?

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    November 15, 2010 3:52 pm

    And I’m a bit disturbed that my Internet filter at work blocked the 20 Most Obese People link on the ground that it contains “Provocative Attire.”

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    November 15, 2010 4:31 pm

    Ah, Robert Earl Hughes. I think I remember him from the Guinness books.

  4. November 15, 2010 4:33 pm

    Wow, that list is pretty disturbing. I think I’ll have a salad for dinner. The NAAFA site is interesting and this book from their suggested reading list wins the “No shit, Sherlock” award for its title: “Fat Is Not a Four-Letter Word” by Charles Roy Schroeder, Ph.D.

Leave a Reply

