Skip to content

Grumble

November 18, 2010
by

If you haven’t seen it, Jeremiah of Jeremiah’s Vanishing New York has a separate site where he talks about the things that piss him off.

Aptly, it’s called The Grumbler.  Needless to say, this is a pursuit that’s near and dear to our hearts here at THEG.

Today, Jeremiah is pissed off about people sitting on NYC sidewalks like they’re on the Dartmouth campus or something. I can’t say that living and working in Midtown it’s something I see very much, but I’m happy to jump on the bandwagon.  Stand the fuck up!

Here’s one example The Grumbler posts, but he has lots more:

Something I’ve noticed over the past 5-7 years, or thereabouts, since the hyper-gentrification of everything went into full swing, is the increasing habit of non-homeless people to park their backsides on the sidewalks and curbs of the city.

At first, it would startle me. I’d see them at a glance, assume “homeless,” and then get up closer and have to do a double-take. She’s not asking for change with that Starbucks cup.

And it’s not just that these sidewalk sitters are non-homeless people. I’m not talking about a bunch of skateboard kids or punks “chillin'” on the dirty curb. The people I’m talking about are largely middle and upper-middle class “regular” folks. It’s the tourists and Juicy Couture shoppers. It’s moms from Ohio.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fred permalink
    November 18, 2010 9:27 am

    Seriously? I’m crotchety, but that site sounds just trifling. There are plenty of real things to worry about. That guy’s life is too happy.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    November 18, 2010 10:08 am

    Look, I don’t feel comfortable running down another man’s peeve. Okay, sometimes I do, but everyone gets pissed off by stupid shit nobody else cares about. It’s what makes the world go ’round (or something).

  3. November 18, 2010 11:18 am

    I like an irrational irritant as much as the next guy, probably more, but this is a bit much. I have sat on plenty a sidewalk. It is not an indication of any effort on my part to rent loft space and artisanal cheese, it’s a reflection of neighborhood, connection to and comfort with the city.

    That being said, it’s enough with the artisanal cheeses and fine wines already.

    • jco permalink
      November 18, 2010 11:33 am

      How come the cabs don’t run them over?

  4. November 18, 2010 3:01 pm

    Reading this gave me a Sly and the Family Stone moment, so that’s a good thing. For once Sly was on time, a miracle.

Leave a Reply

