Skip to content

Hold on Just a Second…

December 8, 2010

I know my portly hard drinking and gambling co-blogger is in a state about the likely shuttering of OTB, and with good reason. But to lash out wildly as he does, accusing me of being a horse race hating jig dancer is a bridge too far. I’ve been known to grumble on occasion, to not hide my distaste for certain people, places or activities, and I challenge Fat Al to tel me when I ever bad mouthed either horse racing or OTB. In fact, I rather like betting on the horses, and the filthy squalor of your average OTB parlor stokes my silly nostalgia for NYC in the bad old days. I don’t bet much, and when I do I wager I tend do it about as well as a blind man running an obstacle course, but I do like it. My poor showing is due to my lack of understanding of this noble sport–though I do bristle a little at calling it a sport, but that’s a subject for another day– and I don’t begrudge either the horses or the bookies for my loses.

If one actually reads the post that Tubby Al uses to bludgeon me it is quite clear that my issue was with him and his vicious assault on those who have opinions he finds distasteful, and not OTB. I make very clear that I understand that OTB is not failing because of how it is managed, but, rather, how our beloved Empire State is managed. The state government squeezes the profits out of OTB so hard that they have made bookmaking an unprofitable business, actually it is quite profitable but so much income is redirected to the State that they are left unable to pay their bills.

All that being said, it is an opaque and intimidating world if you are not an initiate, and that was the point of that NYT article. Just because we don’t share Corpulent Albert’s love and understanding of handicapping does not mean we dislike, object or oppose either racing or OTB. Just because the real villains here, and they are villains, are out of reach of his painful and erudite, but ultimately impotent, rage does not forgive his lashing out at innocents. Kicking the dog after you’ve been fired neither gets you your job back nor encourages domestic tranquility, it hurts the dog, upsets the children and puts everybody on edge.

I didn’t make horse racing less popular, I didn’t make OTB parlors look like some unwashed TV lounge at the Port Authority and I didn’t vote for the venal crooks who are flushing this great state down the toilet, and I most certainly did not dance a jig, though I might be interested in learning one for future gloating.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 2:40 pm

    Oh boy, I feel a classic THEG war of the words brewing here! Can’t wait to hear Fat Al’s comeback!

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    December 8, 2010 3:44 pm

    I don’t think my comeback will qualify as a classic, but I do have two reactions.

    First: I call ’em like I see ’em.

    Second: whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. suck it up.

    • December 8, 2010 4:36 pm

      First: This doesn’t even make sense
      B: It still doesn’t make any sense
      3: Suck what up?

  3. jco permalink
    December 8, 2010 3:53 pm

    A271, are you the dog in that lovely metaphoric tale of domestic violence?

    • Fat Al permalink*
      December 8, 2010 3:56 pm

      Don’t jump to conclusions. He may be the children.

Leave a Reply

