Skip to content

The Consumer File

December 14, 2010

Best Buy blows. A while back I bought new headphones for my ipod. I never spend more than $20 on these as they usually last me no longer than three-four months. Something else I never do is buy warranties for electronic products, in almost ever instance it’s a sucker’s move. However, this time the cashier talked me into one. It actually sounded like a good deal: six dollars would get me unlimited replacements for two years, I would not need to keep any paperwork just give them my phone number and I’m in the system. When the time comes, give them my phone number, they pull up my account, and presto-chango, new headphones! And it worked. Once.

The first time the longest part of the transaction was waiting on line. The second time, well….

It seems that the warranty only extends to products of the same color. That’s right, the warranty will only replace your broken product if it is exactly the same, down to the tiny splashes of blue, green, red that surround the ear bud. If you choose a different color you can replace once but then the warranty is voided. What happens if they don’t have the same color headphones, FUCK YOU!, that’s what happens.

So, I waited as first Erick, and the then I think it was Enrique, searched the store room for an alleged 30 or so headphones in my color. 20 minutes later, they remained undiscovered and so I had to leave empty handed.

Fuck you Best Buy.

Maybe they have blue headphones at Union Square.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 4:14 pm

    The warranty depends on the color of the headphone? Blatant headphone racism!

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    December 14, 2010 5:23 pm

    You’re a sucker.

    • December 14, 2010 5:31 pm

      Am not. My purchase of a six dollar warranty has already yielded me one replacement headphone set priced $20. If you were referring to matters other than the Best Buy warranty, then yes, I probably was.

Leave a Reply

