Skip to content

Our Emerging Police State

December 20, 2010

I’ll save for later my story of this morning’s confrontation with the combat armed NYC police officer. It ended with him retreating but also calling me stupid, so I guess I’ll call it a draw. Though he was one of three machine gunned armed cops and I was just me, so I’m giving myself the slight edge, also he was a jackass.

Anyway, I was alerted to the harrowing story below by my friend Alex. I’m not in the mood to write (or attempt to write) an intelligent, well reasoned argument about this country’s abandonment of traditional notions of freedom, liberty, and civil liberties so I’ll just leave it at the cops need to chill the fuck out, and people need to get angrier at them when they don’t.

A lawyer enjoying a puff on the sill of his second-floor apartment window says he was wrestled to the floor by cops who hauled him off to the loony bin.

Mark Moody said he was taking his usual nicotine break on the window ledge of his Peck Slip home on a hot August day with a cigarette in one hand and a cellphone in the other, a scant 12 feet off the ground.

Read the whole story here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    December 20, 2010 4:28 pm

    After I read that story I popped out my 25th floor office window, sat on the ledge and had a smoke. Jack-booted thugs.

  2. December 20, 2010 5:14 pm

    I hope he wins. The two words that jumped out at me from the article is “conformist society.” That kind of says it all. I can’t wait to read your tale.

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    December 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    Motherfuckers. Smoke ’em if you’ve got ’em.

    By the way, where the fuck is Peck Slip?

Leave a Reply

