Skip to content

Gophers

December 21, 2010
by

Last night the Minnesota Vikings played their first outdoor home game in decades. They had to do so despite the ridiculously cold weather because the flimsy-ass roof of the Metrodome collapsed under the weight of a relatively (for Minnesota) small amount of snow. Because Fox had the foresight to keep their cameras running overnight, they actually captured the collapse in some pretty cool video:

But that’s not my point this very moment. My point relates to the lame college stadium where they played last night — though I will readily acknowledge that it’s basically impossible for a stadium to be lamer than the Metrodome.

TCF Bank Stadium is the home of the University of Minnesota Gophers. I know nothing of TCF Bank, nor do I care to. But one thing I did note while watching some of the game was the University of Minnesota logo:

 

Now what’s the first thing you notice about this logo? How about the fact that it’s not an M. It’s an upside down W.

Now this may seem minor, but seriously, what the fuck? Was there a close-out on W’s and the University wanted to get a good deal? I don’t mean to step into Paul Lukas’s territory, but this logo seems ridiculous to me. I don’t know why I care, but I do.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 11:00 am

    Don’t bad mouth the U.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      December 22, 2010 11:15 am

      I’m just trying to be helpful.

Leave a Reply

