Skip to content

Spider-Man

December 21, 2010

I am as disinterested in theater as the next red blooded American, but I am somewhat fascinated by the calamity that is the new Spider Man musical. I am hard pressed to come up with something that sounds stupider to me than a $65 million U2 scored musical based on my second, or third, favorite Marvel Comics superhero (The Hulk was number one, Spider Man was usually number two, but not always–Thor and Captain America were pretty cool too, and The Thing was Jewish, which was very empowering even though I didn’t learn this until well into adulthood).

Now, the very delayed and way over budget musical, did I mention that we’re talking about a musical based on the story of a geeky kid from Queens who is bitten by a radioactive spider and then develops the ‘powers’ of a spider, is having it’s actors hurt themselves as they hurl themselves from the sky. After delays, accidents, and assorted other setbacks one might be inclined to believe that whole production is snake-bit (snake bit–get it?), but then you have to remember that it’s a musical based on a comic book about a kid who gets bitten by a radioactive spider, with music from U2.

I’d say things are probably going about how you should have expected.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    December 21, 2010 3:11 pm

    I had no idea The Thing was Jewish.

    As for the Spiderman show, I hate to say it but the only interesting thing about it is the disastrous execution. It almost makes me want to see it.

  2. December 21, 2010 3:14 pm

    Absolutely, he grew up on the Lower East Side.

  3. December 21, 2010 4:23 pm

    I guess this answers Time magazine’s question of, “Can Bono Save The World?”

    http://www.time.com/time/covers/1101020304/story.html

    P.S. Nice Thing trivia!

Leave a Reply

