Skip to content

Flashback

December 29, 2010
by

EV Grieve today posts some excellent old photos that are not specifically of my past, but certainly resonate. They are of the Southeast corner of 4th Street and Broadway, home of Phebe’s, which I daresay counted as home away from home for me and Mac in the early 90’s ($4.50 pitchers of Bass!!!!).

Cheers.

And, speaking of bars, EV Grieve also reports that Marty Wombacher has made it back from Peoria notwithstanding the snow. Welcome back, Marty.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 9:50 am

    I am glad I never looked in the kitchen at Phebe’s, but they had some damn underrated food to go with that cheap beer!

    • Fat Al permalink*
      December 29, 2010 10:02 am

      I could go for a basket of fried chicken right about now. Well, maybe not right now, but like in 3 hours or so.

  2. December 29, 2010 10:48 am

    Thanks, it’s great to be back! After landing we had to wait on the runway for 45 minutes till they could find a place to taxi, then I found out there was a two hour wait to get a cab, so I hunkered down at a bar for about three hours to wait it out only to find the line was still there. After 45 minutes I finally got a cab. At least I have the day off today, time to unpack and find a bar for tonight.

Leave a Reply

