Skip to content

Flushed

January 12, 2011
by

On the great Johnny Cash album At Folsom Prison is a song called “Flushed From The Bathroom Of Your Heart”.  It’s a jokey song, but I’ve always been torn between thinking it was kind of brilliant and thinking it was kind of beneath him.

Check the lyrics:

From the backdoor of your life you swept me out dear
In the bread line of your dreams I lost my place
At the table of your love I got the brush off
At the Indianapolis of your heart I lost the race

I’ve been washed down the sink of your conscience
In the theater of your love I lost my part
And now you say you’ve got me out of your conscience
I’ve been flushed from the bathroom of your heart

In the garbage disposal of you dreams I’ve been ground up dear
On the river of your plans I’m up the creek
Up the elevator of your future I’ve been shafted
On the calendar of your events I’m last week

I’ve been washed down the sink of your conscience
In the theater of your love I lost my part
And now you say you’ve got me out of your conscience
I’ve been flushed from the bathroom of your heart

So. Brilliant? Stupid? Both? I’m still not sure. “Up the elevator of your future I’ve been shafted” is a pretty good line. But he loses me on the disposal. As a whole it sort of falls into the “My Ding-A-Ling” category I guess.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 11:12 pm

    I’ll go with both. And I’ve always felt it a shame that Chuck Berry’s last hit single was “My Ding-A-Ling.” To me, Chuck Berry is one of rock ‘n’ roll’s great lyricists and that song was definitely beneath him.

  2. jco permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:00 am

    I’m going to go with beneath him, despite the “shafted” line.

Leave a Reply

