Skip to content

Documentaries

January 13, 2011

Roger Ebert, who has become a fairly interesting guy, he may always have been one but I never noticed, has his best documentaries for 2010 out. Most look quite interesting, though I suspect more than a few could have called it quits after 15-20 minutes instead of running on for their full lengths. In no order, the ones I may make some sort of effort to see are: Restrepo, Scrappers, 45365, Art of the Steal, Collapse, Winebago Man, Inside Job, Cropsey. I guess that’s most of the list, I’m easily swayed.

I came to the list via Andrew Sullivan who describes his feelings about the Joan Rivers movie as follows:

Joan Rivers: Piece of Work” was the most chilling. Rarely has the hollowness of modern life been portrayed as vividly. In some ways, one feels for those destroyed by celebrity more than those, like Rivers, whose lives seem meaningless without it. She terrifies me.

When I first read that I laughed. It seemed more than a little over the top for a documentary about an aged, second rate celebrity, but the more I thought about it the more I imagined that I would probably agree.

I don’t watch any more of the award shows than I catch flipping the channels or obeying the oppressive rules imposed on me as a guest in someone’s house. But I am always struck that catty and mean spirited comments directed at the clothing and appearance of actresses on the Red Carpet, and they are almost always directed at actresses, spout from the mouth of a hideous monster.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    January 13, 2011 5:40 pm

    Andrew Sullivan is a bozo.

  2. January 13, 2011 5:42 pm

    I disagree.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      January 13, 2011 5:56 pm

      This veers into politics, so I will be brief, and then I will say nothing more on the matter. But suffice it to say that in my view Andrew Sullivan is the equivalent of a “birther” and should be treated just as seriously. After that episode I no longer care what he has to say about anything, including documentaries about Joan Rivers.

      • January 13, 2011 8:37 pm

        I grant you that it is an unfortunate and strange obsession on his part, but he is no where even close to a “birther”. For Shame!

        It already shocks me that anybody reads this blog, so to avoid descending into a debate which even we won’t find interesting and will bore what few readers we do have, I will also will say nothing further on the subject.

        I am, of course, happy to yell at you in person if you wish to continue.

  3. January 13, 2011 7:15 pm

    I don’t know who Andrew Sullivan is, but I watched the Joan Rivers documentary and it is a frightening look at what can happen to a person with too much plastic surgery, too many “yes” people and never enough success or attention to suit their needs.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      January 13, 2011 8:33 pm

      Perhaps. But I really could use a tummy tuck.

Leave a Reply

