Skip to content

Canned

January 20, 2011
by

Look, I’m fine with Whiskey In The Jar, but this is just plain stupid:

It is a sight that will have whisky connoisseurs spluttering into their drink – a dram in a can.

A Panama-based company believes outdoor drinkers would prefer to crack open a tin rather than lug round a bottle of their favourite tipple.

Chief executive Manish Panshal said: ‘We are really thrilled with the idea – it’s going to be a part of every lifestyle and occasion.

‘The can is the perfect size to be shared between three people who can mix it with other things like cola.

‘It’s lightweight and portable and entirely recyclable, which is good news. It will be one of the hot picks for any outdoor activities.’

A can of Scotch. A CAN OF SCOTCH.

Oy vey. What is this world coming to?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 1:13 pm

    Why is this bad? Cans are good enough for those bud tall boys I’ve seen you drink

    • Fat Al permalink*
      January 20, 2011 3:42 pm

      You’re so young.

      • January 20, 2011 4:35 pm

        I prefer youthful. And it’s all pretension anyway, bottles, cans, wax seal, pretty label that’s all about marketing. I see that it’s worked.

        • Fat Al permalink*
          January 20, 2011 4:42 pm

          Pshaw. There are any number of reasons that selling liquor in cans is different from selling it in glass bottles. And I’d explain some of them to you if I thought you actually cared, but I don’t.

  2. January 20, 2011 7:54 pm

    I’m not a whiskey drinker, so I’m not going to buy it, but there are worse canned ideas out there:

    http://gizmodo.com/351304/cheeseburger-in-a-can-reviewed

    • Fat Al permalink*
      January 20, 2011 10:59 pm

      Brilliant.

      Okay, here’s my proposal: I’ll drink a can of whisky if anonymous dude eats a can of cheeseburger. I mean why not? Having a cheeseburger on a plate is just pretension.

      • January 21, 2011 2:09 am

        Plates are incredibly pretentious. However, there is a big difference between how a food or drink is served and how it is stored. My problem with the cheeseburger in the can is not the can, but the ready to eat nature of it. A cheeseburger is a cook to order sort of beast. One doesn’t order a drink and have an expectation that it will be brewed or distilled while you wait. Your whiskey will arrive at your bar or home in a sealed container, the only issue is what the material will be. For the cheeseburger, the issue is prepared or not prepared, I am not going to eat a pre-cooked burger regardless of its container, be it a can, a bottle, or a plastic bag.

        But, for $20 I’ll a cheeseburger out of a can.

    • r l ragin permalink
      January 21, 2011 6:22 pm

      thought for sure that you would mention “waffle in a bag”

  3. jco permalink
    January 21, 2011 4:21 pm

    1. Scotch is generally bad (I’m an American girl, bourbon all the way) but Scotch that tastes like an aluminum can has to be worse.
    2. Budweiser is, in fact, better from a glass bottle or, to be completely Patrician about it, an actual glass.
    3. I will kick in $20 to Anonymous if he eats a cheeseburger from a can but I feel I must warn him that any such cheeseburger may well give him bovine encephalitis, whether he puts it on a plate or not.

Leave a Reply

