Skip to content

Ignominy

February 7, 2011
by

I have great memories of Benihana. I loved going there on special occasions as a kid, and it was a blast, what with the tricks and flying shrimp tails and whatnot. And frankly, I recall enjoying the food just fine (it has been 30 some odd years, mind you).

And, as ever, there is a relevant Odd Couple episode wherein Pat Morita has Felix and Oscar as investors in his Japanese restaurant (in which Morita utters the incomparable line “they think it is hip to eat Nip”).

But I digress. What got me thinking about Benihana is that a lawsuit was recently filed in Kuwait against a blogger who apparently had a pretty nasty meal in the Kuwait City Benihana and then had the temerity to write about it (complete with videos). This resulted in a lawsuit that included the following (helpfully translated from Arabic by one of the guy’s readers):

for unidentified reasons, [the blogger guy] has published offensive reviews about the restaurant and its food offerings. The person in question has stabbed the quality, safety and validity of the food with offensive and insulting wordings that affect the reputation of the restaurant.

Now this is basically pretty damn funny, I mean Benihana is really going after some blogger and suing him for talking about his nasty meal? But look at it from the blogger’s perspective. Here’s a guy just doing his thing in Kuwait (why he’s doing his thing in Kuwait I haven’t the foggiest idea) and he goes to eat at Benihana (assuming he’s an adult, I don’t know why he’d do that either) and he has a bad meal and posts about it. That’s all plenty of punishment in my book.

But he now gets fucking sued by the motherfuckers! That’s one ignominious fucking turn of events in my book (Benihana ain’t too happy its own self).

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 12:49 am

    Again with the hating. Benihana is awesome, it’s my brother’s favorite restaurant. Except they make you share a table with strangers, and you know I don’t like people that I don’t know.

  2. jco permalink
    February 7, 2011 11:16 am

    My biggest complaint is that it makes your hair smell like you work at Benihana, but I agree that it is completely objectionable to have to share your table with strangers.

  3. February 7, 2011 12:29 pm

    Can you define ignominy? I have no idea what it means and I don’t want to Google it.

  4. jco permalink
    February 7, 2011 2:32 pm

    Wait until they convict this poor slob of defaming the restaurant in Kuwait and then cut some part of his body off. THAT’s ignominy.

Trackbacks

  1. Media coverage on Benihana lawsuit - 2:48AM [The A-Sides]

Leave a Reply

