Skip to content

The Claw

February 13, 2011
by

Two subjects near and dear to our hearts here at THEG are the dear departed bar/restaurants of NYC and fried chicken. Well, here’s a nice little piece of synergy at work.

The West Village bar/restaurant Fedora that closed last year has been reborn in a poseury version run by some guy who runs other poseury joints (if it turns out that this is the first known use of “poseury” I want a mention in the OED, or at least on UrbanDictionary). The good news? The new Fedora has fried chicken on the menu. The less good news? They serve it with the chicken’s foot still attached to the leg.

Thanks to Metromix

I know everyone’s into “nose to tail” eating these days (a cringeworthy phrase that I’m loathe to reprint here, but what to do?), and my family has a long history of using chicken feet in soup (my great-grandmother was quite fond of gnawing on them), but I say that Fedora and Gabe whateverthefuckhisnameis are including the foot as a mere gimmick and not because it tastes good (if any clue was necessary, the obscene placement of the slice of cucumber on the claw tells you all you need to know). And if I thought giving him “press” here would make a damn bit of positive difference to his business I would refrain, but since nobody cares what I say anyway, I say that this guy is all wrong for Fedora and that the lady herself ought to march over there and kick his ass.

And yes, I’m going to go down there and order the damn thing anyway, because it’s fried chicken and I’m weak of will. But I’ll be pissed off about it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    February 13, 2011 9:02 pm

    I am almost more bothered by the claws piercing the decorative cucumber. Gruesome!

  2. February 14, 2011 9:39 am

    I’m staying away from that place, that guy’s whole “Little Wisco” thing is beyond lame. It’s Christopher Reeve area.

  3. February 14, 2011 11:16 am

    That chicken foot is just a jackassy thing to do. When he starts putting pig knuckles or sheep hooves on the plate I’ll listen.

Leave a Reply

