Skip to content

“I am the only real Kennedy!”

February 14, 2011

Usually I leave the fried chicken blogging to my good friend Al, but as this is really more of a superior, morally outraged sort of post, so I’ll take a stab at it.

I was reading the NYT’s article on the feud brewing between the owners of various Kennedy Fried Chickens around town. I was beginning to enjoy the article when I was struck by the snottiness of the whole thing. While never directly insulting, the entire article is one long condescending “look at the funny immigrants getting worked up about their chicken”. Apparently, many of the fast food fried chicken places in The City are owned by Afghanis, I probably should have known that, considering that the only fast food fried chicken I ever buy is made by Afghanis (it has been mentioned here before, JFC, aka US Fried Chicken at 860 Gerard Avenue, a block away from Yankee Stadium). The hook of the article is the fight revolving around Abdul Haye and his 5 restaurants and some sort of secret recipe, I think I’ve heard that before but I can’t remember where, and his belief that places turning out inferior chickens are ruining his good name.

I’ve certainly laughed at articles like this in the past, I particularly remember an amusing article about soft serve ice cream trucks, but that was different. I’m good and blame free. It’s not uncommon to read an article in the Times about “colorful” locals who help give New York its great flavor, as though the reporter, the newspaper, and its readers reside in some different and elevated world, one whose inhabitants are happy to leave real New York and go slumming among the entertainingly different.

On the other hand, Mr. Haye does say:

“I’m declaring war against all the Afghans in New York who have stolen my name and my idea,”

and

“I am the only real Kennedy!”

So, maybe I’m over reacting just a little bit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 3:34 pm

    I wonder what she thinks about all this:

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    February 14, 2011 3:58 pm

    Oh man, it’s almost JFC time…

Trackbacks

  1. Rings of Fire « The Half Empty Glass

Leave a Reply

