Skip to content

A Night In The Box

February 26, 2011
by

As part of an unnecessary (in my view) effort by someone very close to me to watch all 10 Best Picture nominees before tomorrow night, last night we had a screening of Toy Story 3.

Perfectly good movie.  Not Best Picture, mind you (that’s The Fighter in my book, in a photo-finish with The King’s Speech), but perfectly good.  Even a little bit of a tear jerker, not that that is saying much for me.  I can tear up at, well, a cartoon.

Anyhow, what was most noteworthy to me about the movie was the fact that it liberally borrowed from a classic movie of the ’60s.  No, not a classic cartoon or kids movie, not some slapstick comedy, but Cool Hand Luke.  I swear to God, much of Toy Story 3 is an homage to that classic Paul Newman vehicle (and top ten movie of all-time).

It was a little stunning to realize that the purple stuffed guy riding around in the back of the Tonka truckcreepily “voiced” by Ned Beatty (at least TS3 didn’t do an homage to Deliverance) — was supposed to be The Boss from Cool Hand Luke, and there’s even a version of the “night in the box” speech. Really amazing to watch, although it was kind of disconcerting to realize that this was a movie overtly directed at little kids while relying so heavily on such a non-kid movie source for inspiration. Anyway, it kind of worked and it was kind of brilliant.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 11:38 am

    How good was Paul Newman?! It’s amazing that he transitioned so easily from young pretty boy with chops to weary middle aged reluctant hero to gruff older dude. I know how much you loved Dustin Hoffman in Tootsie, but how Newman didn’t win that year for The Verdict is to me one of life’s great injustices.

    • raginrr permalink
      February 26, 2011 6:18 pm

      damn…i thought i was the only person on earth that felt “the verdict” desired more than just another newman flick…”cool hand” was cool…’the verdict” was…damn what was the verdict…

      rr

  2. February 26, 2011 5:14 pm

    Cool Hand Luke is one of my top ten favorite movies of all time. I guess I have to watch Toy Story 3 now.

    • jco permalink
      February 26, 2011 7:21 pm

      You really do. And Barbie’s pretty hot as well.

      • February 26, 2011 10:24 pm

        Okay, I put it in my Netflix queue and jumped it up to the top position. If it sucks you owe me a cold drink!

  3. February 28, 2011 5:10 pm

    Toy Story 3 is good?

    I don’t believe it.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      February 28, 2011 10:47 pm

      Head and shoulders above Inception. Head and shoulders.

      • February 28, 2011 11:25 pm

        I believe that, but that doesn’t mean it is actually, you know, good.

Leave a Reply

