Skip to content

Hetty

March 11, 2011
by

For those (all) of you who don’t closely peruse the internecine comments between me and anonymous guy, I thought I’d throw this quick post up. Earlier this week my cohort posted some musings about why someone would spend a zillion dollars on a bottle of wine or, actually, I think he started with Cognac. Whatever.

So anyway, in pointing out that he should calm his ass down, I pointed out that nobody’s picture of the ideal person is Hetty Green. Those of you who were as obsessed as I was with the Guinness Book of World Records in the 1970’s know exactly who I’m talking about.

She was known as “The Witch of Wall Street” and was famously miserly and, now that I think about, she kind of reminds me of anonymous guy:

As Flynn writes: “She was not a builder. She projected no great productive industry. Her business was to stand on the side and take her toll from those who were producers and builders and needed her money.”

She was crazed with paranoia. She was convinced that everyone was out to kill her. When a wood beam fell nearby, she was sure that it was intended for her. Same with every mishap: the entire world was organizing against her, in her mind. She hated everyone and everything, truly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 12:57 am

    Aren’t you a litigator?

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    March 11, 2011 7:39 am

    I have never made any claims of being part of a productive industry.

  3. jco permalink
    March 11, 2011 4:43 pm

    I think anonymous should get that outfit.

Leave a Reply

