Skip to content

Belgians

April 7, 2011

The story of Belgian control of the Congo is a horrible one, told compellingly by Adam Hochschild in King Leopold’s Ghost. If you care at all about the subject I recommend it. But this post is about something lighter. One of my favorite lines in popular music, it makes me laugh every time I hear, sing or just think about it, comes from Billy Joel’s awful song We Didn’t Start the Fire. If, amazingly, you don’t know it it’s mostly a chronological recitation of people and events from the fifties on to, whenever, and at one point the song rises to a crescendo as Billy angrily belts out “BELGIANS IN THE CONGO!” Fucking love it. Enjoy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    April 8, 2011 12:05 am

    I tried. But I just can’t do it.

  2. April 8, 2011 3:18 pm

    The thing that bugs me about this song is that as far as I know, no one has ever accused Billy Joel of starting a fire. He’s been accused of driving into a house while blotto on booze, but not of starting fires. I think he’s just looking for attention.

Leave a Reply

