Skip to content

Question Marks, redux

April 7, 2011
by

Apropos of anonymous guy’s long-ago query about the propriety of using a question mark mid-sentence, and the lively debate among the local geekdom it inspired, I thought I should point out this example that I came across recently:

The picture omits some of the context, but trust me, it’s there.  This is from Bruce Weber’s excellent book As They See ‘Em: A Fan’s Travels in the Land of Umpires, which I wholeheartedly recommend and, once I finish it, on which I will undoubtedly have further comment. But for now chalk up one vote for the propriety of an occasional mid-sentence question mark.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 11:58 pm

    See.

  2. jco permalink
    April 8, 2011 11:02 am

    That is a terrible sentence.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      April 8, 2011 11:19 am

      Everyone’s a critic.

  3. April 8, 2011 3:14 pm

    Shouldn’t the quotes be outside the question mark? Now I’m hungry for pancakes.

    • jco permalink
      April 8, 2011 4:25 pm

      I think the whole thing is a travesty, but the question mark isn’t part of the quote, he’s sort of questioning the quoted language it seems, so I guess it’s ok that the question mark is outside the quote mark. But that doesn’t mean that I condone this barbaric practice. It is animale.

    • Fat Al permalink*
      April 9, 2011 10:02 am

      Mmm, pancakes.

Leave a Reply

