Skip to content

I Don’t Even Know What to Say

April 25, 2011

I’m frightened of a lot of things, maybe more than others, I don’t know. But I’m usually able to keep them in check, rarely do I collapse into a quivering mass when I see a spider, scream and run when a clown rounds a corner, whimper and cry as my plane pulls away from the gate, and so on. Fear of heights, is another story, it can make my stomach turn over and legs go a little weak at nothing more than a vivid image or thought. So, I count it as a sort of personal triumph that I was even able to read this National Geographic article on free soloing, that would be the “sport” of rock climbing without a rope.

We’re not talking climbing up to a fourth floor window, or scrabbling ones way up a rocky outcropping. We’re talking ascending Half Dome with no aids other than some chalk for the hands and funny shoes.

I neither understand how nor why. I really don’t, also I just noticed that I was pressing my leg against the side of my desk and my foot into the floor, as if to stay more connected and grounded. Here is a picture from the article and a video below that. Oh God.

I couldn’t figure out how to embed the video, so here’s the link.

Another video of people whose mere existence makes me uncomfortable.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:39 pm

    That kid will fall to his death.

    • April 25, 2011 6:34 pm

      I wonder where he lives? I’d like to go and take all his stuff after he dies.

      • jco permalink
        April 27, 2011 3:13 pm

        My guess is he lives in Colorado. J-holes like that all live in Colorado.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    April 26, 2011 12:24 am

    Well, I guess you’ve got to die of something, so you might as well fall 5,000 feet, be flattened into a pancake and be picked over by small rodents and birds of prey.

Leave a Reply

