Skip to content

My Toe

May 2, 2011

My big toe (left foot) may be broken. I did this to myself last Wednesday night. Since then I have been laying on my couch with ice on the toe or hobbling around when I could no longer use my inflamed digit as an excuse for lethargy. My swollen toe hurts, and really hurts to walk on, but I’m not taking a sick day because of a toe, so here I am at work. About twenty minutes ago I slammed the big piggie into the leg of a very stout table. OW! Now it hurts more than before.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    May 3, 2011 3:13 am

    Sorry for your troubles, my friend.

    I can get you a toe.

  2. May 3, 2011 12:06 pm

    There’s not much worse than a broken toe. I once slammed mine into the corner post of my loft bed and when I went to the hospital I was told I had shattered it! (And yes, alcohol played a part in this episode.) It didn’t heal up until about nine months later. I wish you better luck with your toe injury.

    • May 3, 2011 2:13 pm

      I’ve resisted going to the doctor because I don’t think they do anything for broken toes except take $30 and wrap a piece of tape around it.

      Shattered! That sounds awful and really painful.

      And no good comes of all this, there are no lessons to be learned, you work stinky drunk and broke a toe, I was sober as a judge and I broke a toe. Apparently it makes no difference in life if you are sober or drunk.

      Maybe that’s the lesson.

      • Fat Al permalink*
        May 3, 2011 2:37 pm

        Wow, is that the wrong lesson. Try again.

        • May 3, 2011 2:47 pm

          So you tell me, what’s the lesson?

          • May 3, 2011 2:52 pm

            You’re right about the doctor. They did nothing for the shattered toe and told me to stay off of it for a month! Like that can be done in New York. And sssshhhh! Quit announcing that I work drunk, my boss doesn’t know about this. Okay, I gotta go get a drink…get back to work now.

      • jco permalink
        May 4, 2011 11:10 am

        They might put you in a boot for a big toe. Go to the doctor.

        • May 4, 2011 1:13 pm

          Loot it up online, they don’t do shit except take your co-pay.

          • May 4, 2011 2:23 pm

            I agree with you, they won’t do shit. My toe was shattered (just like the Rolling Stones) and all I got for my money was their advice to sit in a chair for a month. I do have to say, though, you shouldn’t be telling people to steal online. It’s irresponsible!

  3. May 4, 2011 3:33 pm

    Don’t judge me.

  4. Fat Al permalink*
    May 4, 2011 3:38 pm

    I want to get back to this for a second: “Apparently it makes no difference in life if you are sober or drunk.”

    Yes, it certainly does make a difference. It may not make a difference as to whether you fucked up your toe, but it makes a difference in many other ways “in life.” So be careful about making such sweeping generalizations.

    • May 4, 2011 4:03 pm

      Since when did you, of all people, become a teetotaling prig?

      • Fat Al permalink*
        May 4, 2011 4:05 pm

        I didn’t say drinking makes a NEGATIVE difference, now did I?

Leave a Reply

