Skip to content

Manners

May 4, 2011

I was riding the crosstown bus last night, I know I know– “A man who, beyond the age of 26, finds himself on a bus can count himself as a failure ” (misattributed to Margaret Thatcher), but there are other, more profound reasons I am a failure, but we’ll save those for another post– and watched an usual interaction. There was a woman, 30ish I guess, talking away on her cell phone. She was loud but not unusually so, these days anyone not bellowing obscenities into blue tooth head set has to be counted as an at least reasonably courteous sort. I was aware of her but paid no particular attention. About a block after getting on a woman, 60ish or so, sitting near the driver got up and took several steps toward the younger woman and her and sternly announced that she was talking too loud. I looked up surprised, as did several other riders, this was behavior from another era and watched her return to her seat, the phone talker quieted down. She continued to speak but now it is was in low whisper. Astonishing.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 2:24 pm

    I love that woman!

  2. jco permalink
    May 4, 2011 3:36 pm

    I love that woman!

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    May 4, 2011 3:49 pm

    You were riding the crosstown bus?

    • May 4, 2011 4:00 pm

      I have a perhaps broken toe, it can be unpleasant to walk.

      • Fat Al permalink*
        May 4, 2011 4:02 pm

        I’m getting you a Rascal.

        • May 4, 2011 4:11 pm

          Don’t even joke. Maybe I can get a decommissioned one of those absurd three wheeled police thingies I posted about.

Leave a Reply

