Skip to content

Have You Ever Been Over To A Friend’s House To Eat

May 12, 2011

As I believe we’ve mentioned a half dozen times or so, we try to stay from politics around these parts. But I don’t think I’ll angry up anyone with a little fun at the expense of Sarah Palin (full disclosure: I think she is a profoundly ignorant and mean spirited buffoon). Anyway, earlier this week, I guess it could still be going on, I’m not sure, there was some absurd and contrived controversy over an invitation extended to Common for some poetry kind of nonsense at the White House. I’m not familiar with his oeuvre. but it seems that at some point in the past Mr. Common said something naughty and the usual crowd is pretending to be outraged that such a vile man is in the President’s home.

Sarah Palin issued a statement condemning the invitation and his subsequent presence, but also making it very clear that she is not trying to stifle anyone’s first amendment rights. She also made clear that her statement was in no way anti-rap. And to establish her her hip hop bonfides she continued with this:

“I’m not anti-rap. In fact, like Bret Baier, I know the lyrics to ‘Rapper’s Delight,’ too.”

I’m convinced.

Obligatory music video:

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 7:35 pm

    I just got both the mental image of Sarah Palin rapping and the urge to violently throw up my lunch all at the same time. What are the odds of Tina Fey getting a call right now for a guest spot on SNL this week?

  2. raginrr permalink
    May 12, 2011 8:11 pm

    i guess i’m in a “45” fog…but what hell does Bret Baier have to do w/ anything rap?…please excuse my ignorance…

    rr

    • May 12, 2011 10:04 pm

      @rr: She’s saying that he knows the lyrics too. I don’t think either of them can count to five without a calculator so both claims are highly doubtful. They’re probably both at a KKK rally right now.

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    May 12, 2011 11:23 pm

    Sure, but does she know the words to “Eighth Wonder”?

  4. Fat Al permalink*
    May 12, 2011 11:24 pm

    Oh, and who’s Bret Baier?

Leave a Reply

