Skip to content

Everything Sucks

May 24, 2011

Here’s what is pissing me off today. A guy I work with is taking the day off so he can head down to Red Hook to fight a summons. He was given a citation for walking through a park after hours. It was 9 in the evening.

A couple of cops were sitting in an unmarked car and grabbing everybody who was coming out of the park. Almost all of these hardened criminals had just gotten out of the subway, which is right next to the park. and taken the natural route into the neighborhood, which is through the park. My co-worker, a 60 year old man, was going home when he was stopped along with about 5 other people.

What a fucking outrage. The police have an important and difficult job to do, but they ought not be engaged in pointless harassment or revenue raising. Claims by the mayor, the commissioner, or any other city employee that there are not ticket quotas and that they do not have as a mission to raise revenue are nonsense.

Ok, I’m going to stop here. I found myself going on a rather extended rant and I’m sure no one really cares to here it from me, I barely want to hear it from me. I hope my colleague wins. I remain outraged.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    May 24, 2011 2:09 pm

    See, this is the sort of thing that makes me yearn for the completely lawless ’80s, when I lived in Hell’s Kitchen and there was nothing, NOTHING illegal that a person couldn’t do in the street with impunity. Which makes me think maybe there is no crime and the police no longer have a difficult and important job to do.

  2. May 24, 2011 3:40 pm

    That’s fucking ridiculous and I for one would like to hear the rant! I hope your colleague beats City Hall!

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    May 24, 2011 4:12 pm

    I entirely agree with the rant. But I don’t think it has anything to do with ticket quotas. It has to do with laziness. There should be ticket quotas. There should be a very high quota of tickets for cars speeding at 50 mph through Manhattan so they can reach the next red light really quickly and then jam on their brakes, for double-parkers who completely jam half of the streets in both Manhattan and the outer boroughs (I use that phrase just to piss off the outer boroughs), for cabs that cut across 6 lanes of traffic to pick up a fare. Now that I think of it there may be a quota for those kind of tickets, it’s just that the quota is zero.

    Harassing people walking down the street is just sick. Unless they’re hipsters. Is your 60 year-old friend a hipster?

Leave a Reply

