Skip to content

Speaking of Marty

May 24, 2011
by

I’ve been meaning to mention Marty’s post about J. Mac’s on 57th Street. Now the post is obviously fantastic just because it mentions us. We don’t get mentioned much so it’s kind of exciting. But enough about our inferiority complexes. What’s great about Marty’s post is that it hits another solid local real bar.

I’ve only been there once, before a concert at Terminal 5 around the corner. But it was awesome. Fun and, at times, menacing, local characters. A huge looseleaf book full of menus where you can order food from (we chose some local taco joint that I forget), a bartender who was a total piece of work (and who almost ripped my face off when I stepped slightly behind the bar to throw out some trash — she later apologized on the QT saying she was showing out for the New Boss).

Now that New Boss may be the reason that Marty had some trouble speaking to the clientele at J. Mac’s, but nevertheless, I’m sticking by J. Mac’s. This is the kind of non-plastic regular bar that deserves some support. And with the price of beer there, it don’t cost much.

All of this comes to mind because I happen to be in San Francisco and, after hitting a very cool nice old school bar/restaurant called Bix, which I highly recommend, on my way back to my hotel I wandered through Chinatown and came across Red’s Place. Red’s Place isn’t much, but it is perfect at what it is. A few old Chinese people playing low end video games (possibly gaming machines, if you get my drift), cute young Chinese bartender (almost certainly the daughter of one of the aforesaid old Chinese people), $4 beers, and some strange Chinese crooners at a tasteful level over the sound system (may have been a cassette). Sat down, had my beer, watched the end of the great basketball game tonight (at least the end — Dirk Nowitzki is God), and went home happy. Here’s my blurry snapshot of the outside. I think it tells you all you need to know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    May 24, 2011 2:10 pm

    I hope the HEG is paying for this “business trip.”

    • Fat Al permalink*
      May 24, 2011 4:15 pm

      Sure it is. I’m just waiting on anonymous guy to cough up his 50%.

  2. May 24, 2011 3:32 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out! The picture says a thousand drinks…err…words!

    • Fat Al permalink*
      May 24, 2011 4:18 pm

      While I did manage to capture my drunkenness, I failed to capture the cute young bartender staring out the window very seriously at me, no doubt wondering whether she needed to call backup to take care of the snooping haole pointing his BlackBerry at her bar.

Leave a Reply

