Skip to content

Was It Over When the Germans Bombed Pearl Harbor? And Other Cultural Illiteracies

May 25, 2011

One of my co-workers is a young women who attended one the NYC’s elite private schools, then went on to an exclusive liberal arts college. All in all, her parents must have spent more than a quarter of a million dollars on her eduction. She is a smart, seemingly very well educated person. But she has never seen Animal House.

I don’t even understand how that is possible. When she didn’t know who Abbot and Costello were I was sad and felt a little old, but this is so much worse. It’s like never having heard of, I don’t know, Huckleberry Finn, Ernest Hemingway, The Bible.

She’s not some cloistered religious prude, it’s just cultural illiteracy. It is actually the only cultural illiteracy I am thinking about when I wrote the title of this post. I don’t even know what else to say.

UPDATE: Another, only slightly older colleague, also very well educated, and culturally conversant has not seen the movie. This is all very terrible.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    May 26, 2011 10:23 am

    Did your ignorant young co-worker go to Emily Dickinson College?

  2. May 26, 2011 3:13 pm

    My advice to you is to start drinking…heavily. Trust me, I’m in pre-med.

  3. jco permalink
    May 26, 2011 10:11 pm

    Is he bigger than me?

Leave a Reply

