Skip to content

Beards

June 23, 2011

I’m a little surprised that I missed this, but the World Beard & Moustache Championships were held this past May in Norway.

Two countries that seem to dominate the competition are Germany and the U.S. As I looked through the competition’s site I was surprised that the strong showing by the Americans did not swell my chest with patriotism. I am fascinated and impressed but not particularly stirred.

Like the Olympics, participants compete in a number of different categories: Full bear natural, Verdi, Imperial Partial Beard, Garibaldi, Freestyle moustache, etc.

I think I was most impressed by the winner of the Verdi competition, defending champion Karl Roos, but really, they’re all kind of spectacular.

I’ve been known to grow a beard or two in my time, reading about these noble competitors has made me wonder if I have what it takes. Maybe 2012?

The all time greatest beard has to be the one seen in this video from 1991.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 9:23 pm

    Katie Holmes should enter next year’s contest.

Leave a Reply

