Skip to content

Garden State

July 5, 2011

As we have often said, it is our policy around here to stay away from politics. I care about the issues and get as good and worked up as the next guy, but who am I? Nobody really cares what I have to say on the news of the day, it was St. Augustine who said, opinions are like assholes, everybody has one. And while my opinions are clearly more valid than others, I have yet to convince anybody else of this.

So, while this post talks about politicians it is not about politics. It is about my juvenile pleasure in watching grown men curse at each other.

Like the rest of the country, New Jersey is struggling with its budget. The fights over how to balance it have been quite intense and the state’s newish governor, the morbidly obese Chris Christie, seems to like a good fight. Recently he removed a number of items from the budget using his line item veto power. The cuts prompted John Sweeney, president of the senate to say:

This is all about him being a bully and a punk…
I wanted to punch him in his head.

and finally:

He’s a rotten prick

I don’t live in New Jersey, but I happen to think Christie is a fatuous fat fuck (a Triple F, if you will) who plays fast and loose with the truth and is guided by political ideals I not only think are foolish and wrong but cruel. But this isn’t a political blog, so I’ll just note how much fun it is to have the speaker of the senate call the governor a “rotten prick”.

And by the way, Christie usually gives as good (probably better) than he gets.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    July 5, 2011 1:04 pm

    “Garde State”?

  2. jco permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:25 pm

    On Garde!

  3. July 5, 2011 3:21 pm

    Right Garde.

  4. raginrr permalink
    July 5, 2011 6:28 pm

    My wife forced me to become avant-garde when all I wanted to be was Tom Jones.
    – John Lennon

    rr

    • Fat Al permalink*
      July 6, 2011 11:43 pm

      I want to be Tom Jones too.

Leave a Reply

