Skip to content

Swallow

July 25, 2011
by

Rembrandt (Rembrandt van Rijn) (Dutch, Leiden 1606–1669 Amsterdam)

A good friend of ours was hanging around this weekend reading Aristotle. When I asked this pointy-headed gentleman for an explanation of his odd, if admirable, choice of mid-summer reading material, he didn’t come up with anything entirely satisfactory.

But hell, why not? Aristotle’s as good as anyone I suppose. Better than most. I haven’t looked at good old Ari for a while, so here’s a little taste:

For one swallow does not make a summer, nor does one day; and so too one day, or a short time, does not make a man blessed and happy.

That’s from the Nicomachean Ethics I.7. And do you know how many times I had to read that one before I realized our fine philosopher was talking about a bird? Yeah, well, it’s early in the morning and I drank a lot of Bitburgers last night (the schnitzel report will come later on).

Okay, one more Aristotelian insight before I go:

It is unbecoming for young men to utter maxims.

Lousy kids.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 3:08 pm

    There were a lot of swallows last night!

Leave a Reply

