Skip to content

Oh, Come on.

August 16, 2011

I don’t like to speak ill of the dead, unless they deserve it (I also don’t like to speak ill of the living, but that only applies to saying it to their face; behind their back, it’s all good). But I suppose my complaint is not really about the dead guy in this tale, it’s a pretty horrible story, rather, the response of the living.

Back in July a Texas Ranger fan fell from the stands to his death reaching for a ball, now the Rangers are going to put up a statue to honor the guy.

The Texas Rangers announced on Monday that they’re planning to erect a statue in honor of Shannon Stone, the man who died after a fall from the stands during a game at Rangers Ballpark on July 7

This was obviously a terrible, terrible thing, but when did this country become such a maudlin, overly sentimental nation with a death obsession? A statue? Really?

I would guess that in people’s private lives things are pretty much the same as they’ve always been, but once something enters the public sphere forget about it. Everybody has to pretend every death has deeply moved us, is a huge public tragedy, must never be forgotten, and so on.

I have no problem memorializing folks, but we’ve lost all sense of proportion.

I’m sure I shouldn’t be bothered by this kind of stuff, but to not be would require me to think about more important things, mostly about myself. And who wants to do that!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 9:33 pm

    If they make a movie of this they should call it, “The Fall Guy.”

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    August 18, 2011 12:09 am

    I don’t know if the guy’s death moved me much (at least compared to any other incredibly unfortunate death), but it certainly has moved me back from the railing.

    And Marty, I for one appreciate any and all Lee Majors references.

Leave a Reply

