Skip to content

New Yorkers Pulling Together

September 12, 2011

Sunday I was out riding around in Queens. I took the 59th St. bridge out and the Triboro back, no RFK Bridge for me, and really, do the Kennedys need another thing named for them? For cyclists and walkers heading to Manhattan taking the Triboro means you have have to make a stop on Randall’s Island, which is worth a visit if you’ve never been, and then there are two choices for continuing on, one drops you off at 125th and the other is this footbridge that goes to 103rd.

This Sunday, the bridge was closed for some sort of construction. Yet, despite all the signs pointing to a far away detour the gate was open. I was tired and really didn’t want to have go out of my way when there was this perfectly good bridge in front of me, so I sat and stared at the open gate for a few minutes deciding whether I should go or no, what if it’s closed on the other side? I didn’t want to ride back. Finally, a biker came off the bridge and a walker was a few feet behind. Off I went.

But the bridge was closed off at the other end and surrounded by fairly high chain link fencing. It was also crowded with people. People were climbing over the fence in both directions. And for those with bags and bikes, these were being passed over to waiting hands on the other side, I hopped up onto a railing to hand an Australian guy his bag once he made it over, and in return he took my bike for me so that I could follow. I got my handle bar slightly caught on the top of the fence and someone on my side of the fence immediately helped disentangle it. When my bike had been cleared and put down I clambered over the fence, hopped on, and was on my way.

Everyone was helping out, people waited their turns, passed bikes and bags back and forth, gave boosts when necessary. And then every body went on their way. No fuss, no muss. A nice New York moment; it was a regular United Nations (there were at least 4 languages present, 5 if you count Australian)of folks working together to skirt the law. Made me proud to be a New Yorker

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    September 12, 2011 2:17 pm

    Sort of shameful that no one made off with your bike. I guess I have to live with the fact that, for the most part, Manhattan is no longer a dangerous boro.

  2. Fat Al permalink*
    September 12, 2011 3:56 pm

    I was just about to say what she said.

    Oh, everyone handed your bike over a chain link fence. How sweet.

    Pussies.

    • September 12, 2011 10:33 pm

      New York was so much cooler when you were getting held up in the lobby of your apt. There is a lot to be nostalgic for in NYC, crime isn’t one of them.

  3. September 12, 2011 9:05 pm

    “New Yorkers Pulling Together”

    I’m guessing from the title that there was a Circle Jerk once you all got over that fence.

Leave a Reply

