Skip to content

My Apologies

October 11, 2011

Please forgive me for not posting over the last month or so. I had been very wrapped up in a project and my attentions were directed elsewhere.

I was putting together a scientific expedition to Nepal, Bhutan and the surrounding Himalyan region to search for the Yeti, or Abominable Snowmen for you immature types. Unfortunately, last week I learned that there was to be a Russian expedition with the same agenda that is to be announced at this week’s Yeti Conference in Moscow. The world of cryptozoology is small and there is a limited pool of financing available for research like this. Overnight we lost our two biggest backers and, let me tell you, it’s not as easy you would think to replace the financial support that a Bette Midler or Ray Manzarek can offer.

Anyway, I find myself back at work, back to the mundane, back to email and the like. This morning, there was an email asking about any open positions here. The inquiry contained the following paragraph:

The idiosyncratic methodology and content of my academic career refined my dialectical acumen, as well as the rigor and courage of my thought. Written and oral communication, and a commitment to lifelong learning, are among the especially cultivated talents of the graduate. A considerable breadth of literary knowledge is predictably attendant, as well

I don’t know why, but no one else here wants to hire him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jco permalink
    October 11, 2011 6:08 pm

    I think that guy used to work at Fat Al’s place.

  2. raginrr permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:55 pm

    i was lost at “idiosyncratic methodology”…

    rr

  3. Fat Al permalink*
    October 11, 2011 9:52 pm

    Personally, I like a predictable attendant.

  4. October 12, 2011 4:02 pm

    One word for the graduate…”Plastics!” (Plus, he said, “oral.” Heh heh…heh heh.)

Leave a Reply

