Skip to content

Seal

December 17, 2011
by

I’m not much of a twitter guy, but I do follow a couple of friends just to see what pearls of wisdom flow. The other day Arturo tweeted (I always want to say twatted) an interesting little story from New Zealand, via the NY Daily News (it’s “New York’s Picture Newspaper” don’t you know).

Turns out that a baby seal snuck it’s way into some lady’s house by coming in through the cat door and proceeded to plant itself on her couch. Sure. Happens to me all the time. Here’s the lowdown:

“I thought the cats brought a rabbit or something in, so I went down and had a look – and there’s a seal in my kitchen,” she said. “I was standing there thinking, ‘this is really strange.’” After calling a neighbor over to verify what she was seeing was true, Swoffer called the SPCA. “They were giggling away and I’m saying, ‘I’m not drunk, I’m not lying,’ there’s a seal in my house,” she told the New Zealand Herald.

Meanwhile, the seal, undisturbed, waddled right past Swoffer into her living room and plopped down on the couch. “Then it looks at me with those huge brown eyes,” she said to the New Zealand Herald. “It was so cute, but I didn’t touch it because you don’t with wild animals.”

The department removed the stray pup and returned him to the water.

All’s well that ends well. I think I need to go back to New Zealand.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 17, 2011 5:08 pm

    An aquatic Robert Downey, Jr. moment.

Leave a Reply

